Get A Quote


Basics about Bloom’s Taxonomy that an E-Learning Designer Should Know!

Among a number of various essentials, learning objectives are at the crux of an instructional design procedure. Without understanding the learning objectives, the designer would not get any idea of what to include as content and activities for the learning courses. It is so crucial that it can make an entire e-learning course a sheer failure, when not defined properly or clearly.

This is where Bloom’s Taxonomy works as a true guide-cum-savior. This theory or rather system was explicitly designed to help instructional designers and instructors precisely yet clearly define the learning objectives of any course. In turn, they would be able to create learning courses that meet a learner’s expectations or goals.

Let’s take a quick look at what Bloom’s Taxonomy actually is and how it is relevant to e-learning.

What is Bloom’s Taxonomy?

Benjamin Bloom and a committee of educators, in their original work, identified three basic domains of learning i.e. cognitive (mental), affective (emotional) and psychomotor (physical). But people mostly think of the cognitive domain when they consider Bloom’s Taxonomy.

The cognitive domain has been divided into six categories of cognitive skill levels. Each of these categories is linked with a set of verbs. Those verbs or cognitive procedures describe what each and every learner should be capable of performing. Though the names as well as the order of these six categories have been revised in recent years, the fundamental idea remains just the same.

  • Remembering: Recognizing, locating, recalling
  • Understanding: Interpreting, inferring, classifying, comparing, summarizing, explaining
  • Applying: Implementing, executing
  • Analyzing: Deconstructing, differentiating, outlining, organizing, attributing
  • Evaluating: checking, critiquing, monitoring
  • Creating: Designing, planning, producing

The revised taxonomy has been included with a dimension called the knowledge dimension. It focuses on different types of knowledge. It has been divided into four categories i.e. Factual, Conceptual, Procedural and Metacognitive.

How is it relevant to instructional design?

As an Instructional Designer, the professional is required to offer learning objectives that are clear and directly related to the e-learning course. Let’s explain how you can relate Bloom’s Taxonomy to your instructional design tasks.

  • Remembering: Lectures, examples, videos, audios, visuals
  • Understanding: Basic quiz questions (multiple choices) or games such as matching, drag and drop etc.
  • Applying: Practical exercises, simulations, role-playing games
  • Analyzing: Problem-solving questions, situation-based scenarios, case studies
  • Evaluating: Case studies, appraisals, critiques
  • Creating: Projects, questions for assessments

As one can see, certain activities are useful in more than one skill level. The usage depends on how you design and prepare your e-learning course. There are a lot more activities that are capable of helping you with the design. Once you capture it, your learners too will be instilled with each of the above mentioned cognitive skill levels.

Hopefully this very article has solved your query about Bloom’s Taxonomy and explained how you can utilize it to your instructional design procedure. So start applying these activities and skill levels in your task and prepare concise learning objectives for your learners.

Share this post